Science, Policy and Politics: Inflows in transboundary interaction in the Euphrates-Tigris Basin

Science, Policy and Politics: Inflows in transboundary interaction in the Euphrates-Tigris Basin

Wednesday, May 11, 2022
8:00 AM (Pacific Time)
Zoom

Image for RSVP Button

UCLA Webinar Series 2022 - Between the Rivers: Water for development, peace & security in the Euphrates-Tigris region

Prof. Mehdi Fasihi Harandi is an Adjunct Professor of Water Governance and Diplomacy at the University of Tehran, Iran. His current research focus is on (trans)boundary water issues, institutional policy analysis and water conflict resolution mechanisms. Previously, he was the Chair of water and energy governance and diplomacy department at Iran’s Center for Strategic Studies. Previously, Mehdi was a Research Fellow of Ethics Philosophy of Technology associated with Delft University of Technology (2011-2017). In his postdoc research, he was part of the Water Diplomacy Initiative, between Tufts University, MIT and Harvard University (2016-2018), focusing on the issues of complexity, pragmatism, and the enabling conditions for negotiated cooperation of trans-jurisdictional water governance.

Dr. Nouar Shamout is currently the Head of the Studies Team in Thames Water Limited, UK. He has been involved in the water sector for the last 25 years. Nour got his Ph.D. from the University of Manchester, and taught water engineering and was the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Civil Engineering at Damascus University. He was seconded to several strategic water projects within Syria and the Middle East region. He is the founder of Risk Management MSc course at the University of Damascus in cooperation with UNDP. He acted as WHO WASH representative in Syria (2012-2013), and was a Senior academic fellow at the Royal Institute for International Affairs - Chatham House (2013-2014). Nouar is the co-author of several reports on the role of science in transboundary water management processes.

Dr. Rawia Tawfik, associate professor, Faculty of Economics and Political Science, Cairo University

 

8:00am Pacific Time = 3:00pm UTC; 6:00pm Istanbul/Baghdad/Damascus time and 7:30pm Tehran


Sponsor(s): Center for Near Eastern Studies, UCLA International Institute, Center for Middle East Development, Engineering, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability